Bonita Boyd

"The final aim and reason for all music is the glorification of God and the refreshment of the spirit."
-Johann Sebastian Bach

Teaching Philosophy

Bonita Boyd believes in “unlocking”, cultivating, and nurturing the unique artistic and creative gifts in each student she works with.  This includes developing the highest level tonal, technical, and performance skills in order to provide the “vehicle” for individual expression, and to enable the student to achieve their professional career goals.

Inside the Eastman Flute Studio

The Eastman Flute Studio is comprised of an exciting group of gifted flutists, both undergraduate and graduate, from the United States and abroad.  A warm and supportive atmosphere to enable the development of each person’s excellence and a strong sense of community are hallmarks of the studio.

Flute lessons are every week with Bonita Boyd, and focus on sound, technical development, artistic study, solo, orchestral, and chamber repertoire of all periods.

There are bi-weekly studio classes, one focusing on general repertoire, and one focusing on orchestral repertoire.  There are also guest artist master classes.  Recent guests include:

Andreas Blau
Emanuel Pahud
Robert Langevin
Mindy Kaufman
Mark Sparks
Jean Ferrandis

Paul-Edmund Davies
Jonathan Keeble
Jeffrey Khaner
Marina Piccinini
Susan Milan
Katherine Hoover and many more!

All freshmen are placed in a woodwind quintet and are coached weekly.  Many quintets continue on and have regularly won major competitions such as Fischoff.  Chamber music in all combinations is performed and coached throughout the four years of undergrad and in graduate degree study as well.

The Eastman School large ensemble program includes two major orchestras, two major wind ensembles (including the famed Eastman Wind Ensemble), and Musica Nova, a world-class new music ensemble.  Operas are also programmed regularly.  All undergraduate and Master’s level flutists rotate groups and positions and play throughout the year.  Freshmen also play in orchestra at Eastman.

Piccolo lessons are offered by faculty member Anne Harrow.

Flute students typically give two solo recitals a year, as well as appearing frequently on other colleagues’ recitals.  They compete in national and international competitions, and regularly participate in major summer music festivals.

Eastman flutists stay very busy, but still manage to have fabulous flute parties!!


A Sampling of Students' Orchestral & Teaching Posts

 (partial listing only - see the Alumni Gallery for more)

Hilary Abigana- Solo Flutist- “ Fourth Wall”.  (BM)

Haley Bangs- Principal Flutist- United States Navy Band (BM)

Jeffrey Barker- Associate Principal Flutist- Seattle Symphony. (BM) 

Joanna Bassett- Flutist- Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra (MM) 

Bruce Bodden- Principal Flutist- Spokane Symphony.  (BM)

Caroline Brown- Principal Flutist- Arkansas Symphony orchestra.  Professor of Flute, University of Arkansas. (DMA)

Catherine Broyles- Principal Flutist- United States West Point Band (BM) 

Ann Choomack- Piccolo- St. Louis Symphony Orchestra. Artist faculty- Eastern Music Festival.  (BM)

Pamela Daniels- Flutist- United States Army Field Band. (BM)

Julie Duncan- Piccolo- Denver Symphony Orchestra.  (MM) 

Amy Eyles- Principal Flutist- Great Falls Symphony (Montana).  (former) (BM) 

Luke Fitzpatrick- Principal Flutist- Fort Wayne Symphony Orchestra. (BM)

Aaron Goldman-  Principal Flutist- National Symphony Orchestra (BM)

Norman Gonzales- Principal Flutist- Great Falls Symphony, Colorado Springs Symphony. (MM, DMA) 

Alyssa Griggs- Piccolo- Omaha Symphony Orchestra. (BM)

Maria Harding- Principal Flutist- Omaha Symphony Orchestra (BM) 

Anne Harrow- Associate Professor of Flute, Piccolo, and Chamber Music, Eastman School of Music.  Principal Flutist- Sarasota Orchestra (former.) Solo Flutist, Lake Placid Sinfonietta (BM, MM) 

Martha Herby- Flutist- Oregon Symphony.  (MM, DMA). (deceased

Allison Jewett- Piccolo- Houston Symphony Orchestra. (former) (BM)

Alyce Johnson- Piccolo - Chicago Lyric Opera.  Principal Flutist- Beijing Symphony. (former) (MM) 

Kelly Kathman- Solo Flutist- “Alarm Will Sound”.  (BM) 

Mindy Kaufman- Solo Piccolo- New York Philharmonic (BM)

Jonathan Keeble- Professor of Flute-  University of Illinois (MM, DMA) 

Jina Leija- Flutist- United States Army Field Band (BM)  

Kasumi Leonard- Flutist- United States Army Field Band (BM)

Robert Lovasich- Principal Flutist- Mannheim Opera.  Fulbright-Germany.  (BM) 

Patti Monson- Director of New Music Ensemble, Manhattan School (former). New music performing artist.  (BM) 

Jennie Oh- Professor of Flute- Wheaton College (MM, DMA)

Sean Owen- Flutist- United States Army Field Band (BM, DMA)

Gina Park- Associate Principal Flutist- Seoul Symphony Orchestra.  (BM)

Jennifer Parker-Harley- Professor of Flute, University of South Carolina.  Flutist, Columbus Symphony Orchestra. (former) (BM).

Tal Perkes- Principal Flutist- San Antonio Symphony.  (BM). (deceased.)

Susan Reath-Coad- Piccolo- North Carolina Symphony. (former).  (BM, MM) 

Jacob Roseman- Principal Flutist- Green Bay Symphony (MM)

Richard Sherman- Professor of Flute, Michigan State University. Principal Flutist, Chautauqua Symphony. Principal Flutist- Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra. (former)

Donna Shinn- Professor of Flute- University of Washington. (BM, DMA) 

Jessica Sindell- Principal Flutist- Oregon Symphony.  (BM) 

Emily Skala- Principal Flutist- Baltimore Symphony (BM)

Kimberly Stein- Flutist- Seattle Symphony. (former).  (BM)

Joel Tse- Principal Flutist- Toledo Symphony Orchestra (BM) 

Valerie Watts- Principal Flutist- Oklahoma Symphony Orchestra.  Professor of Flute, University of Oklahoma.  (MM, DMA) 

 Heather Zinninger- Principal Flutist- Louisianna Symphony Orchestra (BM)